What does reset all settings do on iPhone and iPad

What Does Reset All Settings do on iPhone and iPad | Learn How to Whether it’s Safe to Reset your Apple Device

Looking to Reset All Settings on your iPhone or iPad? First, get to know what does reset all settings do on iPhone and iPad in this article.

Reset All Settings is a useful setting option baked into iPhones and iPads. This option resets all the phone related settings on your device like WiFi, Network, Bluetooth, etc. This is useful when you are facing issues with any component on your device. 

However, many users fear that doing this might erase data on their iPhones and iPads. But that is not the case. Even we have used the reset all settings option as a potential fix for many issues, it is safe and won’t delete anything. 

This article will dwell deeper into what does reset all settings do and what it doesn’t. We will also other relevant information. 

“Reset All Settings” on iPhone and iPad is a powerful troubleshooting tool. It doesn’t erase your data, but it resets system settings like Wi-Fi passwords, wallpaper, and app permissions to default.

This can resolve issues related to buggy configurations or conflicting preferences.

However, it’s crucial to note that it won’t delete your apps, photos, or personal content. It’s a less drastic measure than a full factory reset, making it a go-to solution for various software glitches.

For a more detailed explanation, continue reading our guide on What does reset all settings do on iPhone and iPad.

Related: How to Reset Network Settings on Mac

What does reset all settings do on iPhone and iPad?

What does reset all settings do on iPhone and iPad

The reset all settings option on your iPhone and iPad will delete and reset all settings on your device to factory default. The Reset All Settings feature will reset the following settings,

  1. Network Settings
    • All saved WiFi networks and their passwords will be deleted. So, if you reset all settings on your iPhone or iPad, then you won’t be able to connect automatically to a wifi network. 
    • All hotspot devices and settings will be deleted. 
    • Saved Bluetooth devices and settings will be erased.
  2. If you have added words to your iPhone or iPads dictionary, then these will be deleted when you reset all settings.
  3. All saved cards in your Apple Pay account will be removed.
  4. All device settings like wallpaper, ringtones, display settings, date & time, and other settings will be reset to defaults.
  5. Wi-Fi credentials of all devices that share the Apple ID and use iCloud Keychain.
  6. Your iPhone or iPad will be deregistered from iMessage and FaceTime.
  7. Security features like Face ID, Touch ID, and Passcodes will be removed.
  8. If you have any restrictions set up, then these will be turned off.
  9. All your accessibility settings will be reset to factory defaults.
  10. Even your encrypted backup password will be removed when you reset all settings on your iPhone or iPad.

What Changes when you Reset All Settings on iPhone or iPad

When you Reset All Settings on your iPhone or iPad, your customized settings will be returned to factory defaults as such, 

  1. Airplane Mode will be turned Off
  2. Wi-Fi will be turned On
  3. Bluetooth will be turned On
  4. Data roaming will be turned Off
  5. Personal Hotspot will be turned Off
  6. VPN will be turned Off
  7. Background App Refresh will be turned On
  8. Location Services for Apps will be turned Off (Apps will stop using your location until you give them permission).
  9. Ask to Join Network will be turned On

What Reset All Settings Won’t Do?

We have seen what resetting all settings does to your iPhone and iPad but many people fear that it deletes data and content stored on your device.  So to clear the misconceptions, here is what Reset All Settings doesn’t do on an iPhone or iPad.

  • Reset All Settings won’t remove any data stored on your device, like apps, music, photos, etc.
  • Reset All Settings doesn’t delete any content stored on iCloud.
  • All the information stored in your apps will remain, and you won’t lose data in Safari, Mail, games, etc.
  • Settings for third-party apps won’t change if you Reset All Settings.
  • iCloud settings will all remain in place, like Find My settings, Activation Lock, etc.
  • All the devices in the list of trusted computers will remain. You won’t see Trust This Computer popups unless it is a new computer.
  • All your iTunes and App Store data and settings will be the same. You won’t lose any purchases.
  • None of your social media accounts and apps will be affected. 
  • Privacy and Security settings won’t be reset if you use Reset All Settings.
  • All the files, folders, and apps on your device won’t be changed or moved in any way. They will all be in the same places, nothing will be reorganized or deleted.
  • You won’t be signed out of any apps if you reset all settings on your iPhone or iPad.

How to Reset All Settings on Your iPhone and iPad?

How to Reset All Settings on Your iPhone and iPad?

To reset all settings on iPhone and iPad, follow these steps:

  1. Back up your device. Although resetting all settings does not erase any of your data, it’s always a good idea to back up your device before making any major changes.
  2. Go to Settings > General > Transfer or Reset [Device] > Reset.
  3. Tap Reset All Settings.
  4. If asked, enter your passcode or Apple ID password.
  5. Confirm that you want to reset all settings.
See also  How Apple Pencil Works 2024 | How Does the USB-C Apple Pencil Work?

Your device will restart and the reset process will begin. Once the reset process is complete, your device will be restored to its factory default settings.

When to reset all settings on your iPhone or iPad?

Resetting all settings can be a useful way to fix a variety of problems with your iPhone or iPad. However, it’s important to note that resetting all settings will erase all of your network and personalized settings.

Here are some examples of when you might want to reset all settings on your iPhone or iPad:

  • You’re having problems with your device’s performance, battery life, or connectivity.
  • You’re having problems with a specific app or feature.
  • You’re selling or giving away your device and want to erase all of your personal settings.

Things to keep in mind before resetting all settings

Here are a few things to keep in mind before resetting all settings on your iPhone or iPad:

  • Back up your device. Although resetting all settings does not erase any of your data, it’s always a good idea to back up your device before making any major changes.
  • You may need to re-enter some of your settings, such as Wi-Fi passwords and Bluetooth pairings.
  • If you’re using a mobile device management (MDM) solution, you may need to contact your IT administrator to get help reconfiguring your device after the reset.

Is it Safe to Reset All Settings on an iPhone or iPad?

Is it Safe to Reset All Settings on an iPhone or iPad?

Yes, it is safe to reset all settings on your iPhone or iPad. Resetting all settings will not erase any of your data, but it will restore your device to its factory default settings.

See also  iPhone Stuck In DFU Mode, How To Fix it in 2022

This can be a useful way to fix a variety of problems with your device, such as unexplained performance issues, battery drain, or connectivity problems.

You may need to re-enter some of your settings after resetting all settings, but this is a relatively minor inconvenience. If you’re having problems with your iPhone iPad, resetting all settings can be a good way to fix them.

What does reset all settings do on iPhone and iPad – Conclusion

If you are doubtful about resetting settings on your iPhone or iPad, then all of that should have been cleared by now. 

Resetting all settings on your iPhone or iPad will only reset the settings of your iPhone like WiFi networks, Bluetooth devices, network settings, etc. It won’t mess with any data or apps on your iPhone. 

Resetting all settings can be helpful in fixing bugs and issues. So if you are facing any errors on your iPhone, try resetting all settings as a potential fix. 

We hope this guide on what does reset all settings do on iPhone and iPad was helpful.

Also Read:

Similar Posts